Anything from the trolly, dears?

I’m going to try my best to keep this as spoiler-free as possible! Buuuuuut, if you haven’t seen it and are worried, maybe best to keep clear!

I’ve been dying to see Harry Potter and the Cursed Child since it was first announced, way back in 2015. Having read the rehearsal script published when the show premiered, I was aware of the story and felt it was a great continuation of the Potter series.

Flash forward to 2019 and still no luck for me in getting tickets. This changed as one afternoon, Chloe asked me if I wanted to see it with her in four days time and I almost screamed at work. Yes, yes and yes!

On the train up to London, I was stupidly excited. I would be seeing both parts in the same day, which was fantastic news. Chloe and I met and we headed to The Theatre Cafe, which if you haven’t been before is an awesome place on St Martin’s Lane – they have another just opposite Everybody’s Talking About Jamie on Shaftesbury Avenue though!

 

Oh, on another note – recently turned vegetarian and am obsessed with the egg mayo sandwiches from Pret. They’re incredible. So, after a quick stop off for a bit of lunch it was time to head over to the theatre for Part 1. The first thing you really notice about the place is that it transports you into a world of its own. It’s absolutely beautiful and it really makes you feel immersed into the Wizarding World. I can’t think of a better place for this show to call home. The production have thought about so many little details both on stage and in the theatre, right down to the wallpaper.

 

The first part of the show really sets up the characters, picking up from the end of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2 – it feels like no time at all has passed from the last film to the start of this production.

Jamie Ballard plays the infamous Harry Potter, fitting the lightning scar and iconic round glasses to perfection. He is joined by Thomas Aldridge and Michelle Gayle who play Ron Weasley and Hermonie Granger.  The trio were thrown back into my mind like they had never left and the magic was instant.

Dominic Short plays Albus Potter, the son of Harry and Ginny, who is reluctant about going to Hogwarts and makes an unlikely friend in the socially awkward but charming young Scorpius Malfoy, played by Johnathan Case. The pairing is made in heaven as the chemistry between the two young wizards is instantly recognisable. While Albus would rather hide away from the world, he is drawn towards Scorpius who helps him overcome this. You can’t help but relate to both in so many ways, struggling to come to terms with growing up and being in an unsteady world. 

IMG_1139

While this play focuses on the journey of our young wizards, the original characters aren’t forgotten. Harry, Ron, Hermonie, Draco and Ginny are all faced with their own demons and challenges throughout.

Part 2 is a lot of action packed – I can’t say anymore than that. You won’t want this spoiled so I will refrain from saying anything else!

Cursed Child is a truly visual spectacle. The magic of the film series and the true meaning of the Potter novels is really brought to life with the use of clever tricks, impressive scenery and some stunning visuals. This fairytale like world is wrapped together so tightly, it’s impossible to poke any holes in it.

Imogen Heap has created a uniquely haunting soundtrack to the two part show – whilst being unique to the stage, it has that wonder and magic that makes Harry Potter so enthralling. It was refreshing to watch a show that wasn’t a musical but still makes clever use of the music throughout, with dance numbers that fit perfectly with scene changes.

It’s true that British theatre hasn’t seen anything like this for decades and I doubt that it will see something of this scale again for a while. 

I’m completely spellbound by this production and I can’t get it out of my head. Everything about it was perfected. Cursed Child is up there as my favourite production, something I want to see again. I would sit through this every single day if I could and I highly recommend that you go.

Oh, of course I attacked the gift shop. I may or may not have purchased more than I anticipated…including a wand. Scorpius’ wand!

IMG_1300

Do I have any regrets about buying a wand? Absolutely not.

So, there are my rambling thoughts about my time at Harry Potter! I’m off to play Wizards Unite now while sipping on a butter beer and wearing a Gryffindor scarf.

Leave a comment